Digital Inequality

Wow, I’ve learned so much through this assignment, but boy am I glad to be finished with it. On top of the hours and hours I spent researching and reading it doesn’t compare with what I could have done.  It seemed like each piece I read lead me to another or started me thinking about other questions I then wanted to research as well.  There just aren’t enough hours in the day!

As I mention in my presentation I had originally intended to research the inequalities in how the the internet is used among different genders, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, education, income, etc.  As I began my research I discovered the larger problem was the divide in access to high speed internet, an issue like most of the public I was fairly unaware of.

Maybe I’m too much of an optimist, but I do not like to think of our government as a corrupt institution where politicians and executives aren’t always in their positions for the good of the public, but instead seek what is most beneficial to themselves.  I am also stunned at the lack of effort by the government to provide the means and methods for all to have access to affordable high speed internet.

In the presentation below I highlight the current status of broadband access, the problems with providing the access, and some difficult but potential solutions to closing the gap between those with access and those without.

4 responses

  1. Craig~ Nice job. I agree, the project was large & each new link lead to a new question of interest! I like how your presentation evolved based on your research, after all isn’t that part of what we want to model to our students, lifelong learning. I especially liked slides 6&7, I really enjoyed that Moyer presentation & it is amazing to me that internet access is not considered a utility!

  2. Wow Craig, nice job. I’m finding the same issue with my project changing focus . You had some great points about how internet companies do not exist to provide the internet access for everyone, they exist to make money. Also, very interesting information on the difference between internet costs/speeds of different countries compared to the U.S. Great job, and I hope mine is informative as yours. I am behind in my assignments and just now in the middle of the Digital Inequality assignment. 

  3. I enjoyed reading your post, your process of doing this assignment, and your actual presentation. It looks like you really learned a lot from this–even though it took you some time to digest everything! Your audio quality was excellent and your presentation flowed smoothly.

  4. Craig,

    Great job on the presentation. Here in Kazakhstan internet access is much cheaper than it is in the states. An unlimited DSL line is about $20 a month, and unlimited 3G access averages a dollar a day. When I’m in the states it often costs at least $100 just for a month of access for my iphone, and I know my sister pays upwards of $50 a month for a DSL line.

    I also had a very hard time trying to decide on a focus for this assignment.

    Dave

Leave a Reply

