Additional Artifact 1 – Minecraft Club (#7)

I am just now getting a chance to post about Minecraft club from this week. I spent a few hours over break creating a “village” seen below. I started out with a random seed and leveled out an already fairly flat place. From here I created a basic city layout with a main street and sidewalk. I then created plots of land from which each student would choose a site to build their home. Most of the plots were separated by a two block wide sidewalk. I wish now I would have created more space between the plots but the students didn’t have any complaints.

2013-03-29_21.59.19

We started today in the tutorial world, where I spawned students straight to the campground to give them some time to practice building in creative mode. By the end of that 10 minutes it was evident by the amount of lava flowing through the area there would need to be some rules established once we started the village.

When we went to the village I explained to students the situation would be similar to when the first settlers landed in America and how they would basically find some land and claim it as their own. The students would be doing this as well and would have to settle disputes using the in game chat. Before setting students free they thought I asked if we needed to make any rules and they all agreed that no lava would be a good idea. They also decided that if anyone was caught intentionally destroying someone else’s property they would be frozen for 3 minutes.

I then let the students go and had them put a sign in front of their plot with their name. I let students build whatever structure they wanted but told them that if they accidently destroyed part of the village they should replace it. The buzz in the classroom was great. Students were so excited about their creations and what others were doing and it was even better to see them asking for and giving help through the in game chat. Here are some screen shots of what they were able to do in about 45 minutes of build time.

I was so excited by what they had created. Just seeing the engagement and hearing the discussions is such an encouragement. Everything was going great!! It was about time to close down the server so students could do some blogging. Of course I heard the groans, not because they didn’t like blogging, but because they didn’t want to stop building. So I shut down the server and one of the students asks “Did you save it?”

I’m thinking, save it? I don’t have to do that right? I got a sinking feeling though so I started the server back up and went to the village, the bare, empty village!!!!

Of course there were some students that were a bit upset, but nothing like I expected. It’s possible that my reaction as treating it as a learning experience for them and myself helped with their reactions. They were a bit frustrated but most said I didn’t really like some of mine anyway, or there was something they wanted to do better. Overall, I think it was a success, and I will remember to save!!

I can’t help but smile about the student’s excitement. I often get stopped outside of class during my other duties and asked what we will be doing in Minecraft Club or that they can’t wait until Minecraft Club.

Leave a Reply

