Challenges in Using Technology in Schools

The precursor to this assignment, the 2012 Horizon Report K-12, excites me about the future of education.  If only we didn’t have to endure all the growing pains and oppositions to change.

I am currently a K-5 computer/technology teacher so I chose to look into the challenge of teaching digital media literacy skills. Many are under the impression that using technology in the classroom is enough to prepare students with the skills and knowledge they will need in their future.  Research shows that educators need to “teach about media and technology” rather than with it (Hobbs, 2010). I feel I am guilty of this and I know that very few if any of the elementary teachers in my district are instructing about using technology. With so much available on the internet and the ability for anyone to publish information and content, its vital to teach students to think critically about how they use digital media.

Through this assignment, I am now more aware of my responsibility to prepare my students about media and technology, not just how to use it.  I want to teach my students how to think critically and to ask questions about what they consume and to be responsible and respectful in what they create.

Buckingham, D. (2009). The future of media literacy in the digital age: some challenges for policy and practice. Euromeduc, Media Literacy in Europe: Controversies, Challenges and Perspectives, Bruxelas, Euromeduc, 13-24.

Martens, H. (2010). Evaluating media literacy education: Concepts, theories and future directions. The Journal of Media Literacy Education, 2(1).

Hobbs, R. (2010). Digital and media literacy: A plan of action. A White Paper on the Digital and Media Literacy Recommendations of the Knight Commission on the Information Needs of Communities in a Democracy. http://www. knightcomm. org/digitaland-media-literacy-a-plan-of-action.

(I’m still having trouble publishing to YouTube.  I’ve also tried to use the embed feature from xtranormal but that didn’t work either.  For now, here is a link to my animation.)

http://www.xtranormal.com/watch/14279722/challenges-in-technology

One response

  1. I agree with you, Craig. I am a technology coordinator at two K-5 schools and I can only think of one teacher that actually teaches the students about the technology. The great thing about her is that she is a kindergarten teacher; at least they are getting it early on and can reinforce what they learned throughout their schooling. One of my goals for teachers has always been to have them be able to teach their students about technology AND how to use it as well as to integrate its use into their lessons and, after reading your post and the Horizon report, I plan to increase my efforts in meeting this goal in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

