Additional Artifact 1 – Minecraft Club (#2)

I was blessed with a two hour delay Wednesday morning and after getting some necessary work done I spent the next two hours “putting together” my Minecraft Club.  I went back through the sites I had bookmarked to dig deeper and figure out what I needed to do now that this was becoming reality.  The first thing I did was put together a parent letter for students I would select to help pilot the program.  The letter explained a bit about the game and the educational value it provided.  That same morning I also spent a lot of time reading about other Minecraft clubs and watching videos  from Joel Levin AKA The Minecraft Teacher.

Throughout the day on Wednesday I was in contact with our tech coordinator so I could see if it was possible to set up a server and if so, learn what I would need to do.  I heard a lot of tech jargon I didn’t really understand, but that being said he is going to set me up with a section of our server with the necessary processing power and ram to work for 25 students.  I now have to wait anxiously for the account codes and keys to the software to begin this setup and begin learning more about the game.

I am probably moving too fast, but I want to have at least two solid months to pilot the program before summer break.  Depending on how this goes, it could turn in to a summer program.

Leave a Reply

