Research in Educational Technology

Although this assignment took considerably more time than the previous ones I found it useful in getting back into the mindset of an active researcher/learner. Having been out of school for only a few years I couldn’t believe I had forgotten as much as I did about researching and citing sources. It was good to get back into the swing of locating scholarly research and learning about the many fresh new ways to do so with the advances in technology and the number of publications now found online.

In order to stay relevant to my students and in today’s society and in order to prepare my students for the 21st century I must stay current on today’s technology, educational and otherwise. Growing up a “gamer” and still enjoying a good video game, this research intrigues me. Despite some gray areas such as what to do about topics needing covered for the current format of standardization tests, I see great potential in video games leading to deeper, student centered learning, while promoting many of the skills contributing to their future success.

Finally, throughout my journey in this course I’ve found and subscribed to many useful resources, of which I can now add Google Scholar email alerts. Now, if I only had time to read even a small portion of these!

Link to Wentworth C – Annotated Bib

One response

  1. Interesting Topic, Craig. I think that using game based technology has a lot of potential in the classroom. I think that my physics students would love to play a game to solve “real problems”. I found these you tube videos, thought you might enjoy them.

    Of course, I have no idea how to begin to create my glass as a game, butI would love to learn how to do that! Guess that’s why I’m taking these classes, looking for ways to use technology so my classroom is student centered! Great topic!

Leave a Reply

